Skip to main content

These are the nominees for the 2018 miaList

The Meetings Industry Association (mia) has announced the shortlist for its miaList 2018.


The miaList recognises individuals who go above and beyond the call of duty, inspiring those around them and playing an instrumental role in making the organisation they work for successful.


Nominees were assessed by a panel of industry experts, which included Gill Smillie of Conference Venues Worldwide, Carol Primett of Anglian Water and Richard O’Riordan of Tower Hotel London, among others.


Jane Longhurst, chief executive of the mia, said: “There is a wealth of talented people within our industry who not only ensure events held at their venue run efficiently, but also consistently help grow their business and develop their teams.


“It is often these people that frequently go above and beyond, and we are thrilled that the miaList gives is the opportunity to recognise and reward them for all their hard work and dedication to the industry.”


The complete list of nominees is below:


  • Aislinn Sloan - Hope Street Hotel
  • Amy Bramhall - Meet Bristol/Destination Bristol
  • Anne Voelkert - Central Hall Westminster
  • Anthony Lowe - MEETinLEEDS
  • Antonio Andrade - Elite Hotels/Tylney Hall Hotel
  • Becky Unwin - Aerospace Bristol
  • Catherine Smith - The Grand Hotel and Spa, York
  • Christine Clark - Wychwood Park Hotel and Golf Club
  • Eleanor Burgess - Ashdown Park Hotel and Country Club
  • Grace Norman - Park Plaza Victoria
  • Helen Wynn - Carringtons Catering
  • Holly Moore - Make Events
  • Jenni Ford - Ricoh Arena
  • Kelly Moore - The NEC
  • Kerry Wright - Lime Venue Portfolio
  • Leigh Cowlishaw - Capita Travel and Events                                          
  • Leszek Kazmiercsak - Southampton Harbour Hotel and Spa
  • Martin Reeves - Classic Lodges Hotels
  • Michelle Henry - Harbour Hotels
  • Mike Lloyd - Elite Hotels/Tylney Hall Hotel
  • Milan Thakrar - Historic Royal Palaces
  • Roger Cassell - New Place Hotel
  • Steve Crawford - College Court Conference Centre and Hotel
  • Vicki Canney - Holiday Inn Taunton
  • Viki Sdepanian - Copthorne Tara Hotel